October Horror: Halloween Marathon 8 – Ranking the ‘Halloween’ Movies

halloween-logo

So I’ve finished the whole Halloween series now, it was a mostly fun endeavour. It’s an interesting series to see progress, as it’s not like some other horror series when the films were pumped out on a fairly regular, sometimes annual basis. I didn’t know there were gaps of many years separating films, and that the series could essentially be divided into chapters of production (1-3, 4-5, 6-8, 9-10). As I expected, and indeed what tends to be the case with pretty much all long running horror franchises, the original still stands far apart from any of the sequels.

A lot of the time I find the quality of the first film in series like this gets diluted by being grouped in with a bunch of sequels, and that definitely applies to Halloween. As I said in the first post, Halloween is something that movie fans of all stripes should see. Perhaps aided by the on/off production schedule, the progression of the sequels does not represent a gradual decline in quality with that varying significantly from film-to-film.

Overall, I only think the original is a truly essential film, but several of the sequels are worth seeking out. At the same time, I would say that four out of the ten movies aren’t really worth watching at all unless you’re a completest. After I finished up my reviews of the last two movies I decided to have a look online at how some other people like to rank the series as a whole, while most of my opinions tend to match up with the general consensus, I think I differ on two movies in particular. I really was not keen on Halloween III: Season of the Witch, and that film seems to be quite the cult favourite now. On the other hand I quite liked Rob Zombie’s Halloween II, which seems to be very low-rated in most corners, though who knows in a few more years’ time that may be reassessed too. Anyway, here’s my ranking of the series based on my viewings this month.

10: Halloween: Resurrection (2002)

09: Halloween (2007)

08: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (1989)

07: Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers (1995)

06: Halloween III: Season of the Witch (1982)

05: Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers (1988)

04: Halloween II (2009)

03: Halloween II (1981)

02: Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later (1998)

01: Halloween (1978)

If you didn’t know, I was watching these movies with fellow movie blogger Anthony at Loudpilloud. Here are his takes on the films.

HALLOWEEN 2015 DAY 7 & 8 – “HALLOWEEN” I & II

HALLOWEEN 2015 DAY 9 & 10 – “HALLOWEEN III: SEASON OF THE WITCH” & “HALLOWEEN IV: THE RETURN OF MICHAEL MYERS”

HALLOWEEN 2015 DAY 10 & 11 – “HALLOWEEN 5: THE REVENGE OF MICHAEL MYERS” & “HALLOWEEN 6: THE CURSE OF MICHAEL MYERS”

HALLOWEEN 2015 DAY 21 & 22 – “HALLOWEEN: H2O” & HALLOWEEN: RESURRECTION”

Leave a Reply

